About Us | Institut français du Royaume-Uni

About Us

The Largest French Library in the United Kingdom

La Médiathèque has one of the biggest collections in French and about France abroad. It also hosts many renowned events throughout the year, from music festivals to wine tasting sessions, and has been listed as one of the ten best libraries in London by Time Out magazine. It is a valuable asset to the thriving cultural life of the country, a welcoming place where French culture enthusiasts can meet to engage more deeply with literature and the arts. With the best of children’s literature, resources about France and French-learning, and a flurry of events such as our French Tales, children have a second home in our Children’s Library.

The Institute’s grade II listed library, like the rest of the building, was designed by French architect Patrice Bonnet in the Art Deco style. He was the heritage conservationist architect of the Palace of Versailles from 1925 to 1940. Consequently, many architectural similarities can be found between both buildings, most poignantly with the marquetry of the parquet floor. If you are interested in the architecture, we will be happy to arrange a group visit. Each year in September, we also participate in the Open House weekend in London.

Our Team

The library team are happy to answer any questions within their field of expertise.

Please check our online catalogue before contacting us if you have specific questions or suggestions.

Mr Christopher Bonilla de la Plata, French Humanities: christopher.bonilla@institutfrancais.org.uk
Mr Nicolas Christian, French Music: nicolas.christian@institutfrancais.org.uk
Ms Lucie Humeau, Children’s library: lucie.humeau@institutfrancais.org.uk
Ms Emmanuelle Martinez, Children’s library: emmanuelle.martinez@institutfrancais.org.uk
Ms Rebecca Infield, French News & Online resources: rebecca.infield@institutfrancais.org.uk
Mr Lionel Mullot, French Literature & Easy French Corner: lionel.mullot@institutfrancais.org.uk
Ms Camille Ondet, French Cinema: camille.ondet@institutfrancais.org.uk