Bold Women of French Cinema | Institut français du Royaume-Uni

Sun 9 Apr - Sun 23 Jul

Bold Women of French Cinema

Co-curated with Ginette Vincendeau (Professor in Film Studies at King’s College), this season is meant to celebrate and analyse both the participation of women to French filmmaking and their representation on screen. Throughout French film history strong, memorable portrayals of women have been mainly the work of male filmmakers. Since its beginning, French cinema has produced its own star-system, with many performers who evolved a meaningful and influential persona – among them Brigitte Bardot, Simone Signoret, Jeanne Moreau, Catherine Deneuve, Isabelle Huppert, Juliette Binoche – to name the most famous. Our intention is to enable spectators to examine these stars’ performances, and discuss their social and cultural significance.

Share

Bookings

Hiroshima mon amour + Q&A

The event has now finished

Le Mépris + Discussion

Sun 28 May
+ Discussion

Paulette

Sat 03 Jun

Une belle fille comme moi

Sun 04 Jun
Thu 08 Jun

Madame de

Sun 04 Jun
+ Q&A

La Fiancée du pirate

Sun 11 Jun
+ Q&A

Et Dieu créa la femme

Tue 13 Jun
+ Q&A
Sun 18 Jun

Club de femmes

Sun 02 Jul
Tue 11 Jul

À nos Amours

Sun 09 Jul

Le Dernier métro

Sun 23 Jul
+ Discussion