Sun 25 Aug - Wed 2 Oct

In the Eyes of the Law

Festivals & Series

We are launching a new series of films on justice, spreading out over several months, aims to provide a small panorama of the wide range of existing films on the theme, a central preoccupation of cinema ever since Georges Méliès’s seminal 1898 film The Dreyfus Affair.

Offering both a historical perspective and a contemporary outlook, September’s programme includes recent documentaries on judges and lawyers who interpret the law on a daily basis, together with classics that address and sometimes challenge, in often dramatic ways, various aspects of the legal system (investigation, trial, doubt, judicial error…).

We are thus aiming to provide a platform for discussion in the presence of filmmakers, lawyers, judges and academics, including Lady Emma Arbuthnot, chief magistrate, judge Anne Gruwez, barrister Richard Horwell QC, and lawyer Antoine Vey.

To continue in Oct & Nov

Programme

La Vérité

Sun 25 - Wed 28 Aug

In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

Z

Sun 1 - Wed 4 Sept

In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

12 Angry Men

Sun 8 - Tue 10 Sept

In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

L’une chante, l’autre pas

Sun 15 - Wed 18 Sept

Women Shaping the World, In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

In the Name of the Father

Sun 22 - Tue 24 Sept

In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

L’Aveu

Sun 29 Sept - Wed 2 Oct

In the Eyes of the Law

Classics, Special Screenings

Share

Bookings

La Vérité

Sun 25 Aug
Wed 28 Aug

Z

Sun 01 Sept
Wed 04 Sept

12 Angry Men

Sun 08 Sept
Tue 10 Sept

Sisters in Law

Thu 12 Sept

L’une chante, l’autre pas

Sun 15 Sept
Wed 18 Sept

In the Name of the Father

Sun 22 Sept
Tue 24 Sept

L’Aveu

Sun 29 Sept
Wed 02 Oct