Fri 20 May - Sat 4 Jun

Benediction

Cert. 12A

New Releases

Beyond Words

137 mins

in English

UK | 2021 | dir. Terence Davies, with Jack Lowden, Peter Capaldi, Jeremy Irvine

Terence Davies’ Benediction offers a portrait of the life of decorated soldier and renowned poet Siegfried Sassoon. Experiencing the trauma, loss, and failure of the First World War, Sassoon is discharged to a psychiatric military hospital, an atonement for his attempts at conscientious objection and his contemptuous poems detailing the horrors and brutality of war. During his time here Sassoon meets and mentor’s fellow poet and soldier Wilfred Owen and the two develop a tender though short-lived relationship.

Tracking Sassoon’s life after the war, Davies explores his relationships with actor Ivor Novello, aristocrat Stephen Tennant, and his later marriage to a woman. This poignant, mournful memoir reflects on British queer history and the inescapable agony of loneliness, being unable to love and desire freely.

From 20 May

Share

25 and Under, cinema for £5

Get cheap film tickets with the 25 and Under Scheme at Ciné Lumière

Bookings

Tue 24 May
Ciné Lumière
Thu 26 May
Ciné Lumière
Ciné Lumière II
Fri 27 May
Ciné Lumière II
Sat 28 May
Ciné Lumière II
Sun 29 May
Ciné Lumière II
Mon 30 May
Ciné Lumière II
Tue 31 May
Ciné Lumière
Fri 03 Jun
Ciné Lumière II
Sat 04 Jun
Ciné Lumière II