We Recommend: Books

Adèle by Leïla Slimani

Wed 20 Feb - Sat 20 Apr

Faber & Faber

Adèle appears to have the perfect life. A respected journalist, she lives in a flawless Parisian apartment with her surgeon husband and their young son. But beneath the veneer of ‘having it all’, Adèle is bored – and consumed by an insatiable need for sex.

Books

Happening by Annie Ernaux

Wed 27 Feb - Sat 27 Apr

Fitzcarraldo Editions

In 1963, Annie Ernaux, 23 and unattached, realises she is pregnant, in a France where abortion is still illegal. Understanding that her pregnancy will mark her and her family as social failures, she knows she cannot keep that child.

Books

Salt on my Skin by Benoîte Groult

Wed 6 Mar - Mon 6 May

World Editions

Set in France in the 1960s, the novel follows the passionate, life-long relationship between mismatched lovers: a Parisian intellectual and a Breton fisherman, brought together by lust, through love letters and exotics encounters.

Books

The Cracks in Our Armor by Anna Gavalda

Wed 13 Mar - Mon 13 May

Europa Editions

In this collection of short stories, all written in the first person, Gavalda explores ephemeral snippets of the lives of colourful characters, ranging from the trucker who puts his dog to sleep to the alcoholic widow who befriends a stranger.

Books

Animalia by Jean-Baptiste Del Amo

Wed 20 Mar - Mon 20 May

Fitzcarraldo Editions

Animalia retraces the history of a modest peasant family through the twentieth century as they develop their small plot of land into an intensive pig farm. Five generations endure the cataclysm of war, economic disasters, and their own tendency to violence.

Books

Balco Atlantico by Jérôme Ferrari

Wed 27 Mar - Mon 27 May

Quercus Books

In a village square in Corsica, two stories intertwine: that of Stéphane Campana, an ardent nationalist, shot dead, and that of brother and sister Khaled and Hayet, who once dreamt of a better future and are now stranded on the island.

Books

No Place to Lay One’s Head by Françoise Frenkel

Wed 3 Apr - Mon 3 Jun

Pushkin Press

In 1921, Françoise Frenkel – a Jewish woman from Poland – opens her first bookshop in Berlin. It is a dream come true. But the rise of the Nazi regime means she has to flee, like so many others, all the way to Paris, then Nice, in order to survive.

Books

Days in the Caucasus by Banine

Wed 10 Apr - Mon 10 Jun

Pushkin Press

Recalling her youth in a nouveau riche family in Azerbaijan, the author retraces the economic, religious and political struggles of a country amidst the Bolshevik invasion, from the point of view of a woman also faced with the challenges inherent to her gender.

Books

Basquiat by Julian Voloj and Søren Glosimodt Mosda

Thu 9 May - Tue 9 Jul

SelfMadeHero

This stunning graphic novel captures the dramatic life and exhilarating times of the archetypal New York artist, covering everything from the SAMO graffiti project to his first solo show, and his early meetings with Andy Warhol.

Books