We Recommend: Visual Arts

Drawn in Colour: Degas from the Burell

Wed 20 Sep - Mon 7 May

The National Gallery

The exhibition offers a rare opportunity to see stunning paintings, pastels, and drawings by leading French Impressionist Edgar Degas: a unique insight into the practices and preoccupations of a complex and intensely private artist.

Visual Arts

Bloomberg New Contemporaries

Fri 29 Sep - Sat 3 Mar

New Contemporaries

French artist Maïa Régis will showcase five pieces at Bloomberg New Contemporaries, the annual touring exhibition offering a compelling snapshot of new work being made by some of the most interesting artists emerging from UK fine art courses.

Visual Arts

Dali/Duchamp

Sat 7 Oct - Wed 3 Jan

Royal Academy of Arts

Take another look at two artistic giants: father of conceptual art Marcel Duchamp, and larger-than-life Surrealist Salvador Dalí. This is the first exhibition to throw light on their surprising relationship and its influence on the work of both artists.

Visual Arts

Soutine’s Portraits: Cooks, Waiters and Bellboys

Thu 19 Oct - Sun 21 Jan

The Courtauld Gallery

Chaïm Soutine was one of the leading painters in Paris in the 1920s and 1930s and was seen by many as the heir to Vincent van Gogh. This major exhibition is the first time he has been exhibited in the United Kingdom in 35 years.

Visual Arts

Cézanne Portraits

Thu 26 Oct - Sun 11 Feb

National Portrait Gallery

The major new exhibition, Cézanne Portraitswill bring together for the first time over fifty of Cézanne’s portraits from collections across the world, including works which have never been on public display in the UK. #CézannePortraits Credit: Madame Cézanne in a Red Armchair, by Paul Cézanne 1877. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. Bequest of Robert Treat Paine, 2nd.

Visual Arts

The EY Exhibition: Impressionists in London

Thu 2 Nov - Mon 7 May

Tate Britain

Impressionists in London, French artists in exile (1870–1904) is the first exhibition to map the connections between French and British artists, patrons and art dealers during a traumatic period in French history.

Visual Arts

Art Now : Marguerite Humeau, Echoes

Sat 18 Nov - Sun 15 Apr

Tate Britain

French artist Marguerite Humeau's research led process takes the form of large scale installations involving sound and sculpture in which she challenges key issues of the day, using complex narratives that synthesise the past with the present, death with life.

Visual Arts

Illustration Cupboard’s Annual Winter Exhibition

Tue 21 Nov - Wed 31 Jan

Cupboard Gallery

Visit Illustration Cupboard Gallery’s 22nd Annual Winter Exhibition to see over 400 pieces of original artwork by world-famous illustrators including Axel Scheffler, Judith Kerr, E.H. Shepard, Shirley Hughes, Anthony Browne, Lauren Child and more. Signed and first edition books and prints also available.

Visual Arts

Modigliani

Thu 23 Nov - Mon 2 Apr

Tate Modern

During his brief and turbulent life Modigliani developed a unique and instantly recognisable pictorial style. Though meeting little success during their time, his emotionally intense portraits and seductive nudes are now among the best-loved paintings of the 20th century.

Visual Arts