We Recommend: Visual Arts

Illuminating Women: Photographs by Mayotte Magnus

Sat 8 Sept - Sun 24 Mar

National Portrait Gallery

This exhibition celebrating creative women revisits key portraits from Magnus including artists Liliane Lijn and Glenys Barton, authors Marina Warner and Margaret Drabble, actresses Glenda Jackson and Judi Dench or Nadine Gordimer.

Visual Arts

Renzo Piano – The Art of Making Buildings

Sat 15 Sept - Sun 20 Jan

Royal Academy of Arts

From The Shard in London to the Pompidou Centre in Paris, the buildings of Renzo Piano have enriched cities across the globe. This exhibition reveals the vision and invention behind his pioneering work, showing how architecture can touch the human spirit.

Visual Arts

Courtauld Impressionists: from Manet to Cézanne

Mon 17 Sept - Sun 20 Jan

National Gallery

This exhibition traces the development of Impressionist and Post-Impressionist paintings through a selection of over forty masterpieces from the collection of the Courtauld Gallery, including famous works by Cézanne, Toulouse-Lautrec, Renoir, Manet and Seurat.

Visual Arts

Ulla von Brandenburg: Sweet Feast

Thu 20 Sept - Sun 31 Mar

Whitechapel Gallery

Ulla von Brandenburg takes previous Whitechapel Gallery exhibition Sweets (1973) as inspiration for this new commission. Von Brandenburg re-enacts this show with local children in a new immersive and colourful seating structure. With the support of Fluxus Art Projects.

Visual Arts

Soufiane Ababri

Fri 28 Sept - Sat 24 Nov

SPACE

For his first UK exhibition, Soufiane Ababri confronts themes of homophobia and racism in order to dismantle mechanisms of domination — from post-colonialist to patriarchal power structures — while aiming to thwart oppressive social dynamics. With the support of Fluxus Art Projects.

Visual Arts

Oceania

Sat 29 Sept - Mon 10 Dec

Royal Academy of Arts

Marking 250 years since Cook’s first voyage to the Pacific, this exhibition celebrate the dazzling and diverse art of the region of Oceania, from the historic to the contemporary. Organised in partnership with the Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac.

Visual Arts

Divinations of A World To Come

Tue 2 Oct - Sat 17 Nov

the Agency. Gallery

The exhibition, curated by Bokantaj, introduces works by Hervé Beuze (Martinique) and David Gumbs (St Martin/Martinique) for the first time in the UK. It will explore the intersection of art and literature, and their roles in our conceptions of the future.

Visual Arts

Pierre Huyghe

Wed 3 Oct - Sun 10 Feb

Serpentine Galleries

Pierre Huyghe, one of the world’s leading conceptual artists, presents a major new exhibition transforming the Serpentine Gallery into a porous and contingent environment, housing different forms of cognition, emerging intelligences, biological reproduction and instinctual behaviours. Exhibition supported by Fluxus Art Projects.

Visual Arts

For the Love of Corals

Sat 27 Oct - Sat 19 Jan

Obsidian Coast (Bradford-on-Avon)

Obsidian Coast presents its inaugural exhibition, For the Love of Corals by artist Sonia Levy, a cinematic inquiry that focuses on the daily labour of caring for endangered beings to resuscitate them from their imminent human-induced extinction. Supported by Fluxus Art Project.

Visual Arts